Kelowna is the Best Medicine

“If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is thank you, it will be enough.”

  • Meister Eckhard

I lived on Vancouver Island for almost ten years, the entirety of my twenties. It was until my mid-forties I began to realize the opportunity I had wasted. As breathtakingly beautiful as the island is, I never took the time to get to know it the way I should. It wasn’t until my family gifted me with a camera and I began to learn the names of the birds and the wildflowers, that I realized how much I had taken living on the island for granted. I didn’t really see.

It happens, right? Life gets in the way. Your perception narrows, and hey, I was in my twenties, after all. I suppose if I had any regrets in my life, that would be one of them – not appreciating what I had while I had it. Sometimes if feels like I’ve been spending my life since trying to make my way back to the ocean.

When I lived on the prairies, it was different. My life was difficult. But at least I became aware of my surroundings. I began to steal time for myself. Daytrips to the mountains, birdwatching outings, volunteering at a wildlife centre – nights of sleeping under the stars, coyotes howling in the distance. I learned to appreciate the beauty of a field of grain, the gathering of storm clouds, and even the sparkle of fresh snow under impossibly blue skies. I admit I do miss the place I lived, with mountain bluebirds and moose wandering through the yard. The sound of chorus frogs, singing in the evening.

It’s been six years since Bear and I landed in the Okanagan. When we first got here, I didn’t know anyone. I threw myself into life in a lake town. Early mornings and late afternoons at the beach and free concerts in the park. I started exploring the backroads. Fruit stands and barbeques, patio dining and locally brewed cider. The smell of Ponderosa Pine.

Eventually, I started to make friends and got more involved in life as a writer. And again, life began to get in the way. Don’t get me wrong, I have the world’s greatest friends, and I love being a writer. But sometimes I get so caught up in writing about life I forget to go out and live it.

This month started out different. Early on, my friend, Michele, and I went out on a ginko to the Maude-Roxby Bird Sanctuary. If you’re interested in the photos and haiku from our ginko, you can access them here:

About a week later, we went on a nature journalling expedition with our sketch books, and even though I only managed one sketchy sketch of a plant, I was reminded how much I used to enjoy sketching poorly.

x

x

x

But a lot of the month was consumed by deadlines and commitments – and medical appointments. One test I was scheduled to undergo was causing me so much anxiety I was starting to shut down, spending more time in bed than out, not being able to eat, or feeling sick immediately afterward.

The day before the test, I dropped Bear off at work and went to the beach.

x

x

I had my camera, my sketchbook, and my journal with me – just like the early days. I don’t know how long I stayed there but long enough for the fresh air and sunshine to make me hungry. Instead of going home I decided to treat myself to lunch and made my way to the Mission Dunenzies. I don’t know what it is about that place. I don’t even like pizza. But I LOVE pizza from Dunenzies. And as I sat there on the patio, which I consider to be the single best patio in Kelowna, looking out at the mountains and eating my amazing pizza, I realized I hadn’t been appreciative of all that surrounds me, everything that I have. Well, I was appreciating it today.

I decided I was having too much fun to go home. I continued to drive along Lakeshore Road, stopping to take photos of whatever caught my attention. There was nowhere I needed to be, nothing I needed to do.

x

x

Eventually, I found my way to Bertram Park. I unloaded my walker and took a long walk around.

x

x

x

x

My anxiety was gone. My stomach felt better. I was tired and sore, but I was happy. The next day, the test went off without complications. The day after that, we learned the place we live has been approved for sale and development.

So we will have to move. It probably won’t come to anything for a few years, but with the cost of living being what it is, we have our eyes open. If something comes along that is a long-term solution, we might have to jump on it. Bear says he wants to stay here as long as possible because he doesn’t want me to have to leave my friends. I am so lucky. For my children, for my friends, for this beautiful land that I love. Regardless of when we might have to leave, I will Appreciate. Every. Single. Moment.

And God, if you’re listening? Thank you.

Author: Featherstone Creative

Sally Quon is a photographer and writer living in the beautiful Okanagan Valley, where she is blessed to live, love and grow on the traditional and unceded territory of the Syilx people. Her photography has appeared in Canadian Geographic Magazine and in Nature Alberta’s various birding brochures. Sally was recently published in Chicken Soup for the Soul - The Forgiveness Fix and was long listed for the Vallum Chapbook Award. She is an associate member of the League of Canadian Poets. One of her photos was chosen for inclusion in the Photographer’s Forum “Best of 2018” Collection. She has two beautiful, almost grown children and a cat who loves her.

2 thoughts on “Kelowna is the Best Medicine”

  1. As always, I’m in awe of your ability to see the amazing beauty of the small, the simple, the overlooked nature around us. Today, I heard a saying from a wise person: “Nothing happens to you – it happens for you.” If you have to move, the Universe may have something much better in store.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment